The Feels

Jake-DN

5 minutes ago, Rinkusan-SL said:

Out of curiosity, what was Aion like during the pay2play days? I started playing a few months after it went free2play.

It was amazing, best pvp, best content, some of the best days ever in this games life. Dark poeta/Tahabata & miragents was end game. The grind was real, and super challenging.
Blue armor & weapons were decent back then...Manastones rarely failed to socket. Gathering & crafting was profitable. 

5 hours ago, Bryos-TM said:

Manastones rarely failed to socket, sure. But it wiped all of your socketed manastones if it failed. Those days were a nightmare.

That was not really such a nightmare. Do you remember miragent when it first came out? The challenge was actually brutal, especially the pants. My legion was so happy when I procced the pants on my first try (I never had that kind of RNG before or since). I knew so many people who quit because they had 5, 10, or even 15 or more failures. They lost so much time and kinah getting boiling balaur stains...

So many people quit they had to change that quest line.THAT was a nightmare.

Wtf game were you playing where manastones "rarely" failed?   You act as though it didn't frequently require 50 manastones to socket a 4-slot armor.  

Aion at launch was a lot of fun but had its issues. On the fun side we had an unofficial RP server - Lumiel.  People would gather in taverns and RP.  Some of the best people I met were from Lumiel RP community.  This is gone now.

We had forums that let you look up characters and see their gear.   This function also showed you what their armor looked like.   I'm miss this though people could use it to screen out undergeared players.

People complained about the grind to 50 and running out of quests some levels.  A lot of people quit calling it a Korean Grinder by the mid-30s level wise.